Admin
Wednesday, 02 November 2016 12:08

Rusty Lake: Roots' worth the price of admission

The Rusty Lake series of point-and-click puzzle games have long been known for their creepy aesthetic; the tradition continues with the recently-released 'Rusty Lake: Roots' ($2.99, available on Android, Apple, Steam, and iOS), a multi-tiered game that doles out the grim backstory of some of the characters that have previously been revealed to players of the unnerving game.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 04 May 2016 10:03

King's Quest: Once Upon a Climb

Some people's nerd cred comes from comic books and movies, but mine has its roots in video games. When I was growing up I played King's Quest II: Romancing the Throne on the family Atari-ST. The graphics were what you'd consider a little flat and you had to type in your commands. So things have come a long way, but that doesn't mean we don't miss some of the older-style games.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 10 April 2013 14:47

Infinite Dark' is art

 

Bioshock Infinite's descent into storytelling

 

If you want to avoid some mild spoilers for 'Bioshock Infinite,' you may want to stop reading for a bit and catch up later on in the article.

There's a point early on in 'Bioshock Infinite' that made my mouth drop. Not in a 'DUDEBRO, THAT WAS A TOTALLY RAD EXPLOSION THAT WE JUST MADE WITH OUR LIGHTNING STRIKE SCORESTREAK!' kind of way, or even a 'I am so invested in these characters that I can't believe they did that' kind of way. No, no, this was an honest-to-goodness, mouth-agape, I-can't-believe-they-actually-did-that jaw dropping moment.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 23 January 2013 15:38

A Truly Black Op

A Halo fan dives into competitive CoD

It was inevitable, really. Major League Gaming, the premier e-sports bastion, was built on the back of 'Halo.' They grew exponentially by word of mouth and the exploits of its stars, and by the time 'Halo 2' rolled around, it was a full-blown pandemic of competitive gaming. Names like Walshy, OGRE 2, Captain Anarchy, Karma and Ghostayame started traversing online forums just as easily as Jeter, Clemens and Ruth. It became a culture unto itself, shepherding dreams of professional gaming to a whole new audience.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 05 December 2012 15:50

Skyrimodification

Adding to the Elder Scrolls

If you're like me, you're a little late to the 'Skyrim' PC wagon. I got the game at launch on the 360 and ended up with roughly 110 hours of shouting at dragons and bandits and mudcrabs and just about anything you could yell at in a draconic tongue. There may have been some swords and spells in there as well, but I was too busy shouting at everyone I met to pay much attention. Giant? SHOUT! Sabre tiger? SHOUT! Mammoth cheese? FUS RO MOTHERTRUCKING DAH !I liked that bit of the game, if you couldn't tell. But eventually, I grew tired of shouting (actually, the guards made me stop doing it in town, so it wasn't fun anymore), and longed for new quests, areas and weapons to fill the void that shouting left.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 21 November 2012 17:44

Halo 4:' singleplayer review

Still legendary 

There's a line in 'Halo 4's' campaign that immediately got my attention. When Cortana is dealing with the effects of her rampancy (which is basically an AI's version of multiple personality syndrome, and all of the personalities are crazy), she bemoans her fate to the Master Chief. In an emotional state, she predicts that they'll pair the Chief with another version of her, 'but it won't be me' is her resigned, saddened conclusion.

Published in Tekk
Thursday, 15 November 2012 00:08

Halo 4:' multiplayer review

Restructuring Bungie's online battlefield

In games as in movies, sequels are a delicate thing. You have to simultaneously protect everything that made the first game great while adding more features and polishing the whole experience. In the case of 343 Industries, they've had to take on the role of torch-bearers and bridge-burners. To bring 'Halo 4' up to speed with improvements that other first-person-shooters have made in the past few years while keeping the 'Halo feel' is no small task. Stepping into 'Halo 4's' multiplayer, longtime fans have to ask, is this budding developer up to the task?

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 24 October 2012 22:37

Home-Fake-Home

Skyrim: Hearthfire

So, it's an ill-kept secret that I'm a geek. I enjoy me my fantasy books, sci-fi movies, and RPG video games, including 'Skyrim.' In September, Bethesda released their latest downloadable content (DLC) 'Hearthfire' for Xbox users and in early October to PC players, which is when I got involved.

Now, though most of you know I'm a geek, I'm a geek among geeks when it comes to my playing. I enjoy the lamest parts of 'Skyrim.' While some prefer to go full-on badass, slaying dragons and crafting armor from their skin and bones, I'm chasing butterflies and seeing how many different pieces of pottery I can collect and display in my house. One of my biggest frustrations in the game is how difficult it is to properly place items on tables and display cases. I mean, really Bethesda, did you have to make the physics so that every time I pick something up it flips upside down? Do you hate me that much?

Published in Tekk
Thursday, 04 October 2012 07:39

The Zen of Dark Souls

How to love a game that hates you

50,000 souls.

Fifty-mother-frakking-thousand souls.

I stared in disbelief at the incredibly subtle 'YOU DIED' crimson across the screen like a neon slap in the face. Fifty thousand souls (the measure of experience in this game) plus 11 humanity - a good couple of hours of work vanished under the club of a fat, venomous troll. It was my own fault for being overconfident and pressing onward into the face of obvious danger and then spitting in the face of said obvious danger, which resulted in that same danger beating the crap out of me.

Published in Tekk
Wednesday, 05 September 2012 15:37

Dust': an Elysian tail

(Because the main character has a tail, see?)

'Dust' is a fluid little action game with a bunch of RPG nonsense hanging off of it and an aesthetic that is mostly almost-embarrassing. The characters are cartoonified anthropomorphic animals of a vague fanart-quality that I'm not really qualified to judge - though I can't imagine anyone is going to see the villain's stupid talking head portrait and not mash A to get it to go away - and every time one of them starts babbling you'll be glad that you're all alone. At least the characters are characters, I guess. And once you get past them the game doesn't look too offensive, as long as it keeps moving.

Moving! Yes. You can walk around and jump and slice stuff. Slicing is kind of nice. You can keep attacking in the air, and every time you do you kind of hang there for a second. You know what I mean. Pressing the Y button makes Dust freak out and start spinning his sword like his arm is a machine that spins things very well, and if you do it in the air you start cycloning forward. This is the 'Ocarina of Time' roll of 'Dust' - it's more fun than walking and after a few hours you've convinced yourself that it might not be slower. It's probably more fun that running, too, though I can't be sure since you can't run in this game.

Published in Tekk
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 Next > End >>
Page 1 of 3

Advertisements

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine