Posted by

Allen Adams Allen Adams
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

edge staff writer


Maine Literary Awards announced

Rate this item
(0 votes)

BANGOR – One of the higher honors in Maine letters has announced its 2019 crop of recipients.

The Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance (MWPA) named the winners for the 2019 Maine Literary Awards at a ceremony held at the Bangor Public Library on June 13. The awards honor books published during 2018, as well as adult and youth manuscripts in drama, fiction, nonfiction and poetry.

The Maine Literary Awards are an annual competition coordinated by the MWPA. Nominations are open to all Maine residents (this includes seasonal and other part-time residents); the competition is for published books, as well as dramas, student writing and other short works (published or unpublished). In addition to being nominated by others, Maine writers can self-nominate.

This year, nearly 140 books were entered across the awards categories. In addition, more than 60 manuscripts were submitted into the Short Works and Drama Award competitions, while nearly 70 Maine students submitted work in the same categories in the award’s Youth Competition.

For more information about the Maine Literary Awards or the Maine Writers & Publishers Alliance, visit the MWPA website at


2019 Maine Literary Awards 

Book Award for Fiction
“The Futility Experts,” Margaret Broucek

Book Award for Crime Fiction
“Stowed Away,” Barbara Ross

Book Award for Speculative Fiction
“The Scrimshaw Worm,” Daniel Dunkle

Book Award for Nonfiction
“Into the Raging Sea,” Rachel Slade

Book Award for Memoir
“Wayfarer,” James S. Rockefeller, Jr.

Book Award for Poetry
“Midden,” Julia Bouwsma

Book Award for Young People’s Literature
“The Lies They Tell,” Gillian French

Book Award for Children’s
No award given

Book Award for Anthology (Editors)
“Atomic Tangerine,” The Telling Room (Editors)

John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction
“Return to Moose River: In Search of the Spirit of the Great North Woods,” Earl Brechlin

Excellence in Publishing
“Isako Isako,” Mia Ayumi Malhotra (Alice James Books)

Drama Award (for film, theater, and other scripts)
Kristin J. Leonard

Short Works Competition, Fiction
Laura Levenson

Short Works Competition, Nonfiction
Sue Repko

Short Works Competition, Poetry
Jeri Theriault

Youth Competition, Fiction
Alexa Barstow

Youth Competition, Nonfiction
Elena Parr

Youth Competition, Poetry
Emma Auer


The Maine Edge. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Terms & Conditions.

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine