Posted by

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Maine Sports Hall of Fame to induct nine May 4

Rate this item
(0 votes)
Maine Sports Hall of Fame Maine Sports Hall of Fame

WATERVILLE An international statesmen, two Olympians, two College World Series competitors, a two-time sportscaster of the year, a seven-time Maine amateur golf champion, a basketball star who once scored 68 points in a game and a football coach with the most wins in the program's history comprise the nine people to be inducted into the Maine Sports Hall of Fame on May 4 at its 39th annual awards banquet at the Augusta Civic Center.

Inductees are George J. Mitchell, New York City; Julia Faith Dawson Clukey, Augusta; Jack W. Cosgrove, Bangor; Joseph L. Ferris, Brewer; Edward J.  Flaherty, Portland; William (Bill) Green, Cumberland; Eleanor D. Logan, Boothbay Harbor; Steven M. Pound, Greenville; and Abigail L. (Abby) Spector, Waterville.

Five scholar-athletes also will be honored as recipients of $5,000 scholarships at the banquet: Carsyn Koch, Washburn District High School; Ian Lee, Madawaska High School; Alexandra Logan, Cheverus High School, Portland; Mikayla Turner, Messalonskee High School, Oakland; and Rayne Whitten, Massabesic High School, Waterboro.

William E. Haggett, West Bath, will receive the President's Award.

Tickets to attend the induction banquet are $40 for members of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and $50 for nonmembers. A reserved table for 10 is $400. A social hour will start at 11 a.m. and a buffet will begin promptly at noon. Tickets may be purchased until April 29. Checks may be made payable to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and mailed to Kelly Pinney-Michaud, 58 Town Farm Road, Oakland, ME 04963. To purchase tickets online, visit and click on the Banquet Tickets link.


George J. Mitchell An international statesman, Mitchell is a central figure in two high-profile sports-related developments. He was selected by Major League Baseball in 2006 to lead an investigation into the use of performance-enhancing drugs. In 2012, the former Senate Majority Leader served as an independent third-party athletics integrity monitor for Penn State in the wake of a sexual abuse scandal involving a football coach. Since he founded the Mitchell Scholarship Program in 1995, 1,900 Maine students have received more than $8.5 million in scholarships. Mitchell was a standout basketball player at Waterville High School and Bowdoin College.

Julia Faith Dawson Clukey America's top-ranked women's luger ranked sixth in the world with two second-place finishes on the World Cup circuit. Clukey, who placed 17th in the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver, Canada, missed qualifying for the 2014 U.S. Olympic luge team in December by 0.013 seconds. In 2012, she hosted a camp for girls in Readfield to help them develop self-confidence and healthy lifestyles.

Jack W. Cosgrove Head football coach at the University of Maine since 1993, Cosgrove led the Black Bears to a 10-3 record in 2013 and the school's first Colonial Athletic Association title. For the second time in three years, the New England Football Writers Association named him Coach of the Year. Cosgrove has the most wins of any of the 34 head coaches in the program's history.

Joseph L. Ferris Pitching for the University of Maine in the 1964 College World Series, Ferris recorded wins over Seton Hall and Southern California and earned a save in the Black Bears' victory over Arizona State. He was selected as the tournament's Most Valuable Player.   

Edward J. Flaherty An All-America performer at the University of Maine in 1975, Flaherty has been head coach of  the baseball team at the University of Southern Maine since 1986. His teams have made seven College World Series appearances, winning national titles in 1991 and 1997. During Flaherty's tenure the Huskies' record is 842-379.

William C. (Bill) Green Through the 'Green Outdoors' and 'Bill Green's Maine' the Bangor native has created a distinctive and recognizable visual platform for the state's recreational and outdoor sports. The Maine Sportscaster of the Year in 1984 and 1986 is a registered Maine Guide and enjoys hunting and fishing, especially for stripers.

Eleanor D. Logan Logan won a gold medal with the U.S. women's eight crew in the 2008 Olympics at Beijing and repeated four years later in London. Last year, the Stanford graduate won the single sculls at the National Selection Regatta. She is preparing for the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro.

Steven M. Pound At Stearns High School, Pound led the Minutemen to the 1968 State LL championship, averaging 40 points per game. He poured in 68 points in a contest with Caribou. During his career at Acadia University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Pound was twice voted Athlete of the Year.

Abigail L. (Abby) Spector Winner of four schoolgirl golf championships while a student at Waterville Senior High School, Spector won the first of seven state women's amateur championships when she was 15. She was awarded a full golf scholarship to the University of North Carolina, where she was 'best overall' in 2003. In 2001, she won the New England Women's Amateur title.

Scholarship recipients:

Carsyn Koch, Washburn District High School

Koch, a four-time individual Class D cross-country champion, has also played on three state championship basketball teams and the 2013 Class D gold medal squad in soccer. She has a grade-point average of 98.41 and ranks first in a class of 32.

Ian Lee, Madawaska High School

Lee is the Maine schoolboy career-scoring leader in soccer with 127 goals, 38 in the Owls' 2013 Eastern Maine Class C boys soccer gold-medal season. Twice honored as Class C Maine Soccer Coaches Association player of the Year, he has a grade-point average of 3.779 and ranks sixth in a class of 46.

Alexandra Logan, Cheverus High School, Portland

Logan was a standout for the Cheverus girls lacrosse team, winner of the 2013 state Class A championship. She earned All-America honors and is an Academic All-America. Logan has a grade-point average of 4.15. She has been accepted at Bowdoin College and will concentrate in neuroscience.

Mikayla Turner, Messalonskee High School, Oakland

An all-around performer in field hockey, basketball and lacrosse at Messalonskee, Turner will graduate with 12 varsity letters. She has helped lead the Eagles to appearances in four regional championships. Turner is the recipient of the school's outstanding service award. She has a grade-point average of 101.97 and ranks second in a class of 203.  

Rayne Whitten, Massabesic High School, Waterboro

A three-sport participant in soccer, indoor track and lacrosse, Whitten led the lacrosse team to a Western Maine Class A championship in 2013. She was selected as a U.S. Lacrosse All-Academic performer. She has a grade-point average of 102.31 and ranks first in a class of 234.

President's Award (presented to an individual who has bettered sport and athletics and become a leader at state and national levels):

William E. Haggett, West Bath

An exceptional athlete at Morse High School and Colby College, Haggett coached American Legion baseball for several years in Bath. His leadership was a central factor in the creation of athletic and sports opportunities in the city. He serves on the board of the Maine Winter Sports Center in Aroostook County,  a group that is among the most successful in the nation in its support and development of winter sports at the Olympic level.

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame is a 501 (c) 3 nonprofit organization. For more information about MSHOF, visit


The Maine Edge. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Terms & Conditions.

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine