Posted by

Allen Adams Allen Adams
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

edge staff writer


NFL announces 2010s All-Decade Team

Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The NFL and the Pro Football Hall of Fame have officially announced the roster of the NFL’s 2010s All-Decade Team, naming 52 players and two coaches to the list.

It’s a who’s who of gridiron greats, packed with players whose careers will likely end with the donning of gold jackets at Canton. However, even among these legends, there are those who stand just the smallest bit taller.

Eight of these players – Tom Brady, Aaron Donald, Von Miller, Adrian Peterson, Joe Thomas, Justin Tucker, J.J. Watt and Marshal Yanda – were unanimous selections, named on every single one of the 48 ballots cast by the selection committee.

Let’s look closer at those eight, in alphabetical order; the full roster will be posted at the end of the story.


Tom Brady

What is there left to say about Tom Brady? He is simply the GOAT; it seems unimaginable that anyone might not vote for him for this honor. He’s got 10 division titles, five AFC Championships and three Super Bowl rings in this decade alone. He threw for over 43,000 yards and 316 TDs against just 80 picks and made nine Pro Bowls. He was named First Team All-Pro twice and won a pair of league MVP Awards in 2010 and 2017. Brady is one of just a few players to make this squad after also being named to the 2000s All-Decade Team. A legend who deserves unanimity.

Aaron Donald

It seems crazy that a guy with just a half-dozen years in the league would merit this kind of recognition, but when you take into account how much production has been jammed into six seasons, you can see why he’s a unanimous pick. Donald has essentially been the best interior defensive lineman in the league since he entered it. Pro Bowl all six years. First Team All-Pro five times. Defensive Rookie of the Year. Defensive Player of the Year two years in a row (2017-18). He has 72 career sacks and is one of just 11 players to record 20 or more sacks in a season.

Von Miller

Miller has been one of the most dominating defensive forces in the league since his arrival back in 2011. He has done it all for Denver, recording nearly 500 tackles over the course of his nine seasons. He has recorded over 100 sacks – 106 to be precise – while also forcing 26 fumbles and recovering nine. Miller has been named to eight Pro Bowls and was First Team All-Pro three times. He was the 2011 Defensive Rookie of the Year and the MVP of Super Bowl 50.

Adrian Peterson

Look, there’s little doubt that Adrian Peterson is kind of terrible as a human being. But in terms of his performance on the football field, it’s hard to argue against his unanimous selection here. He’s one of just a handful of backs to rush for more than 2,000 yards in a season (2,097 in 2012); he ran for 10,261 yards and 72 TDs over the course of the decade. The 2010s saw him make four Pro Bowls and twice be named First Team All-Pro. Peterson was also the only non-QB MVP of the decade, winning in 2012.

Joe Thomas

No surprise that everyone gave Joe Thomas the nod; he was basically the consensus best left tackle of his generation and is considered to be one of the best ever. His toughness was legendary; it took a career-ending injury for him to miss a snap. Thomas made seven straight Pro Bowls and was First Team All-Pro five times. Even with just seven-plus seasons to go on, it’s a no-brainer – Thomas warrants the unanimous vote.

Justin Tucker

Everybody’s favorite fantasy football kicker, Justin Tucker has combined distance and accuracy unlike any other kicker in the league. He is the most accurate field goal kicker in NFL history, having hit on 265 of his 292 attempts, good for a percentage of 90.75 – he’s the only guy in league history over 90. He’s also missed just three of his 301 career extra point attempts. Tucker has made three Pro Bowls and was named First Team All-Pro four times.

J.J. Watt

Despite the fact that he missed significant time in three of his last four seasons, J.J. Watt has still put up phenomenal numbers. Even with just 112 total starts in his nine years in the league (and just 32 in his last four), Watt’s performance cannot be overstated. There have been 12 seasons in which a player has sacked the quarterback 20 or more times – Watt is the only one to do it twice. He has 96 total sacks, despite 1.5 total in 2016-17 and four last season. He was named Defensive Player of the Year three times. He is a five-time Pro Bowler and has been named First Team All-Pro five times.

Marshal Yanda

Here’s a guy who spent his entire career being underappreciated, despite being one of the best to ever play the position. But hey – that’s the way it goes with interior offensive linemen. Yanda has a case as the best guard of his era, having played a key role in some of the most productive rushing attacks of the decade. Yanda was named First Team All-Pro twice and made the Pro Bowl in eight out of the decade’s 10 seasons.


NFL 2010s All-Decade Team


QB: Tom Brady; Aaron Rodgers

RB: Frank Gore; Marshawn Lynch; LeSean McCoy; Adrian Peterson

WR: Antonio Brown; Larry Fitzgerald; Calvin Johnson; Julio Jones

FLEX: Darren Sproles

TE: Rob Gronkowski; Travis Kelce

OT: Jason Peters; Tyron Smith; Joe Staley; Joe Thomas

OG: Jahri Evans; Logan Mankins; Zack Martin; Marshal Yanda

C: Alex Mack; Maurkice Pouncey


DE: Calais Campbell; Cameron Jordan; Julius Peppers; J.J. Watt

DT: Geno Atkins; Fletcher Cox; Aaron Donald; Ndamukong Suh

LB: Chandler Jones; Luke Kuechly; Khalil Mack; Von Miller; Bobby Wagner; Patrick Willis

CB: Patrick Peterson; Darrelle Revis; Richard Sherman

S: Eric Berry; Earl Thomas; Eric Weddle

DB: Chris Harris Jr.; Tyrann Mathieu


P: Johnny Hekker; Shane Lechler

K: Stephen Gostkowski; Justin Tucker

PR: Tyreek Hill; Darren Sproles

KR: Devin Hester; Cordarrelle Patterson


Bill Belichick

Pete Carroll

Last modified on Tuesday, 07 April 2020 11:13


The Maine Edge. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Terms & Conditions.

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine