Posted by

Allen Adams Allen Adams
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

edge staff writer


Criminal Mischief (05/23/2018)

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Toll evader arrested

AUBURN – A trucker’s ongoing efforts to avoid paying tolls has resulted in his arrest.

For the past two months, the Commercial Vehicle Unit of the Maine State Police has been attempting to identify a truck driver who has been avoiding tolls on the Maine Turnpike for up to six years. The driver was avoiding the tolls by illegally attaching license plates not belonging to him and had racked up over $1300 in unpaid tolls in Maine and was suspected of accumulating thousands more in unpaid tolls from other northeast states. One of the license plates belonged to a man who had died and a second plate belonged to a person who was not involved in the thefts.

The suspect in the thefts is 61-year-old Danny Olson of Turner, owner of Olson Transportation and a long-haul truck driver.

On the afternoon of May 17, State Police stopped Olson’s big rig in Auburn after he had driven up from New Hampshire. Olson was arrested and transported to the Androscoggin County Jail. He is charged with theft of services (Class C felony) along with having a false log book, failing to retain his previous log books, illegal attachment of registration plates, unauthorized taking of registration plates and failing or neglecting to pay tolls. Olson’s truck was also placed out of service and towed due to safety violations. Troopers found license plates in the truck that were not registered to Olson.

Olson’s bail was set at $2500 cash and he was released from the jail overnight. Other states will be contacted regarding the thefts.

New officers graduate from MCJA

Maine’s 65 newest police officers have graduated from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro.  The officers spent eighteen weeks in study and training and most will begin patrolling immediately, in time for Memorial Day weekend enforcement efforts. 

The new officers were told to always treat others as you would want to be treated. That advice came from Bucksport Police Chief Sean Geagan, who also serves as President of the Maine Chiefs of Police Association. Geagan told the graduates, “Never betray, always have courage, and always uphold the constitution, your community and your agency.”

Among the many topics studied by the new officers were crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

The graduates include five Game Wardens and three Marine Patrol Officers, who will continue training with their state agencies before patrolling on their own.

The new officers are as follows, listed alphabetically by department:

Officer Joseph G. Tripp, Auburn Police; Officers Brody L. Gibbs, Jarid P. Leonard & Jeremy A. Rackliff, Bangor Police; Officers Adam T. Hubbard & Hayleigh E. O’Donnell, Biddeford Police; Officer Christopher P. Wolongevicz, Brunswick Police; Officer Jessica A. Ramsay, Buxton Police; Officer Phillip H. DiLuca, Clinton Police; Deputy Evan A. Rea, Cumberland County Sheriff; Officer Ryan M. Pynchon, Cumberland Police; Officer Alyshia D. Canwell, Dexter Police.

Officer Caela T. Fenderson, Eastport Police; Officer Steven M. Mahon, Ellsworth Police; Officer Brandon L. Sholan, Farmington Police; Deputy Alan R. Elmes Jr., Franklin County Sheriff; Officer Steven A. Milton Jr., Freeport Police; Officer Andrew L. Ward, Fryeburg Police; Officer Daniel R. Ross, Gardiner Police; Officer John W. Shively, Gouldsboro Police; Officer Mallory A. Clayton, Houlton Police; Deputy Tad M. Nelson, Kennebec County Sheriff.

Officers David J. Allen & Alec W. Collins, Lewiston Police; Deputy Chase M. Bosse, Lincoln County Sheriff; Officer Wayne A. Robbins, Machias Police; Officer Samuel M. Dechaine, Madawaska Police; Emily J. Lopez, Alexandre S. Michaud & Nicholas S. Stilwell, Maine Marine Patrol; Tennie J. Coleman, James H. Gushee, Michael E. Latti, Tyler M. Leach & Jason A. Voter, Maine Warden Service; Officer Shannon E. Coffey, Old Orchard Beach Police; Officer Joseph T. Decoteau, Old Town Police.

Warden Logan C. Pardilla, Penobscot Nation Warden Service; Officer Ethan R. Stevens, Pleasant Point Police; Officers Geoffrey T. Edwards, Cody E. Forbes, Alexander P. Joyce, Kyle T. McIlwaine & Matthew E. O’Connor, Portland Police; Officers Allen-Michael L. Jones & Tyler D. Seeley, Presque Isle Police; Officer Anne W. Griffith, Rockland Police; Officer Ashley M. Rich, Rumford Police; Officer Peter A. Theriault II, Sabattus Police; Officer Kyle N. Gregory & Ryan M. Lathrop, Saco Police; Deputy Zachary D. Kindelan, Sagadahoc County Sheriff; Officer Daniel T. Donovan II, Scarborough Police; Deputy Stephen D. Armiger, Somerset County Sheriff.

Officer Jacob C. Labo, Thomaston Police; Olivia T. Mora from Surry and a tuition student from Thomas College; Deputy Mariza N. Gionfriddo, Waldo County Sheriff; Deputy Toni E. Bridges, Washington County Sheriff; Officer Paul D. Heath III, Waterville Police; Officer Nathan J. Mandeville & Joshua M. Morrow, Westbrook Police; Officer Alexander M. Brokos, Windham Police; Officer Savannah M. Brennan, Winthrop Police; Officer James J. Fisher, Wiscasset Police; and Officer Meghan E. Pierce, York Police.


The Maine Edge. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Terms & Conditions.

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine