Posted by

Wire Reports Wire Reports
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Bicycle Coalition of Maine recognizes award winners

Rate this item
(0 votes)

PORTLAND - The Bicycle Coalition of Maine recently presented nine local champions of better biking and walking with awards in recognition of their efforts to make Maine better for those traveling on bike or foot. Each year, the Bicycle Coalition of Maine distributes awards to deserving bicycle and pedestrian advocates around the state who are working hard to improve their communities.

The Coalition is proud to present our 2015 awards to the following people and organizations:

TheHarry Faust Leadership Awardis named after one of Coalition's most dedicated and effective Board Chairs, and is presented to a Mainer who has been a true leader in her community to promote more biking.This year's winner isJulie Daigleof Fort Kent.

TheJeff Miller Spirit of Cycling Awardisnamed after the first executive director of the Coalition and is presented to a Mainer who demonstrates Jeff's joy from all aspects of biking. This year's winner isDave McCarthy, of York.

TheJust Do It Awardispresented to Mainers who exhibit leadership in public service focusing on the biking and walking community.This year's winners areSagadahoc County Sheriff Joel MerryandBath Police Chief Mike Field.

TheMuddy Wheel Awardis presented to a leader advancing the area of mountain biking in Maine.This year's award winner isRob Lavoieof Gorham.

TheSally Jacobs Community Advocacy Awardis named after the legendary bicycle advocate from Orono and presented to local advocates who have made a significant difference to biking and walking in their community. This year's winner is theWalk-N-Roll Bangorcommittee.

TheVolunteer of the Year Awardis presented to a volunteer that has contributed extraordinary time, effort and energy to the Coalition and our mission. This year's winner isLeonard Howardof Portland.

TheBusinesses for Better Bicycling Awardis presented to a Maine business that encourages and supports bicycling within their business and community. This year's winner isMaine Beer Companyof Freeport.

TheNext Generation Awardispresented to a person or program who instills a love, interest and appreciation of bikes and walking in the next generation.This year's winner is theNorway Walking School Bus Program.

For a complete listing of award winners' biographies, photos and more information, please visit


The Maine Edge. All rights reserved. Privacy policy. Terms & Conditions.

Website CMS and Development by Links Online Marketing, LLC, Bangor Maine